## **Staff and Pensions Committee**

## 16 May 2023

# **Appointments to Sub-Committees/Bodies**

#### Recommendation

That the Committee makes appointments to the bodies listed.

#### 1.0 Introduction

The Staff and Pensions Committee is responsible for functions in relation to the appointment of staff, terms and conditions and local government and is responsible for the establishing of any Appointments and Disciplinary Appeals Sub-Committees needed from the Pool of Members appointed by Council, and the Pension Fund Investment Sub-Committee.

## 2.0 Appointments to Bodies

#### 2.1 Pension Fund Investment Sub-Committee

The Sub-Committee oversees the investment policy relating to the pension fund and acts to ensure appropriate management of the Fund and administration of the Pension Scheme. It operates as a sub-committee of the Staff and Pensions Committee.

#### Membership

Five county councillors (allocated proportionately to the representation of groups and individual members on the Council). The Council is invited to confirm/appoint members to the Sub-Committee. The membership for 2022/23 was

3 Conservative Councillors Brian Hammersley, Christopher Kettle,

and Mandy Tromans

1 Labour Councillor Sarah Millar1 Liberal Democrat Councillor Bill Gifford

Based on the current membership of the Council, strict political proportionality would result in membership being split as follows: 4 Conservative seats, 1 Labour seat. However, the Committee could again agree a different split of seats provided no member of the Committee votes against it.

# 2.2 Appointments and Disciplinary Appeals Sub-Committees – Pool of Members

The sub-committees are established when required to determine individual appeals by employees and also to appoint directors, assistant directors and such other statutory officers as required.

### <u>Membership</u>

Any three or more elected members drawn from a pool of members. Members in the Pool should undergo training prior to taking a seat on either a selection panel or staff appeal.

The Pool for 2022/23 comprised:

<u>Conservative</u>: Councillors Margaret Bell, Parminder Singh Birdi, Peter Butlin, Jeff Clarke, John Cooke, Andy Crump, Yousef Dahmash, Piers Daniell, Brian Hammersley, Dave Humphreys, Andy Jenns, Kam Kaur, Justin Kerridge, Jan Matecki, Jeff Morgan, Penny-Anne O'Donnell, Wallace Redford, Izzi Seccombe, Jill Simpson-Vince, Mejar Singh, Heather Timms, Mandy Tromans, Adrian Warwick, and Martin Watson.

<u>Labour</u>: Councillors Barbara Brown, Jackie D'Arcy, Sarah Feeney, John Holland, Sarah Millar, and Caroline Phillips.

<u>Liberal Democrat</u>: Councillors Sarah Boad, Bill Gifford, and Jerry Roodhouse.

**Green:** Councillor Tracey Drew.

Any new members appointed to the Pool by Council will be required to undertake training.

# **Background Papers**

None.

The information in this report is drawn from the Council's current published Constitution where the full terms of reference of bodies can be found.

	Name	Contact Information
Report Author	John Cole	johncole@warwickshire.gov.uk Tel. 01926 736118
Assistant Director – Governance and Policy	Sarah Duxbury	sarahduxbury@warwickshire.gov.uk
Strategic Director for Resources	Rob Powell	robpowell@warwickshire.gov.uk